How Do I Protect My Workers' Compensation Rights?

Tennessee Workers' Comp Rights Protection Attorneys

How Do I Protect My Workers' Compensation Rights?

The most important step in protecting your right to collect workers' compensation is to ensure that you understand our claim and what is available to you by law. Most workers need an attorney's help to do this because employers do not fully explain the workers' comp process.

Although you may pursue your workers' compensation claim on your own, many people benefit from working with an attorney. Trying to understand all of the workers' comp regulations as they apply to you is difficult. There are numerous exceptions and workers' compensation laws are always chaning. In addition, if you miss a deadline, you may lose your opportunity to file a claim.

Going through the workers compensation process is already stressful enough without having to defend yourself. Representation by a team of legal experts is you best chance to win your claim and get the compensation you deserve.   

To schedule a FREE consultation, please call our Nashville workers' comp rights protection lawyers at 877-918-2395 today.

Workers' Comp Tips

  • It is important to report your injury to your employer within 30 days of the injury or of the physician's diagnosis of the injury as work-related. You must also file a Request for Benefit Review Conference before the statute of limitations expires.
  • Be thorough when describing your injury to the doctor and make sure all injuries are properly documented. If any part of your injury is not documented, your employer may deny benefits for it.
  • Make sure you are given an appropriate Permanent Partial Impairment Rating (PPI) or Medical Impairment Rating (MIR) by the treating physician. The rating makes a significant difference in the amount of benefits you receive.
  • The amount of wage replacement you receive is based on two-thirds of your average weekly wage for your gross wages, including overtime earnings from the 52 weeks prior to the injury. Review this amount to ensure it is calculated accurately.
  • Do not accept a workers' comp settlement until you review it with an attorney.
  • Contact an attorney if you have questions or encounter problems with your employer or the Tennessee Department of Labor.

Workers' compensation cases are taken on a contingency fee basis. If we accept your case, you pay no fee unless we recover damages for you.

Tennessee Injury Rights Lawyers

For a FREE consultation, please call 877-918-2395 or contact us online.

Learn How We Can Help